Databases

Access to Databases

The Traveler Program is available to Arkansas citizens residing within the state, and to academic, public and school libraries statewide. The 82 databases contain a variety of information sources: popular magazines, newspapers and periodicals; academic and professional journals. 

Most Requested @ Forrest City Public Library

African American Heritage
A groundbreaking digital resource exclusively devoted to African American family history research.

HeritageQuest Online
Combines digital, searchable images of U.S. federal census records with the digitized version of the popular ProQuest Genealogy & Local History collection and other valuable content.

World Book Student
A research tool tailored for students in elementary & middle schools with over 40,000 encyclopedia and reference articles, 10,000 biographies, multimedia, videos, animations and student activities.

Mango Languages
Provides language learning experiences with step by step lesson plans for 71 different languages. This database features ESL lessons for over 16 languages along with a text translator. *First time users must create a profile in order to use this resource.

Research Library (ProQuest Central)
A mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and other resources covering 150 subject areas: arts, business, education, engineering and technology, health and medical, history, law, literature and languages, multicultural themes, psychology, natural sciences, social sciences, & women's studies.

U.S. Newsstream (ProQuest Central)
Provides the most recent premium U.S. news content, including archives as far back as the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. For academic and public libraries, US Newsstream offers exclusive access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and co-exclusive access (with Factiva) to The Wall Street Journal. US Newsstream also offers one of the largest collections of local and regional newspapers and is cross-searchable on the ProQuest platform.